Foodie Penpals – July 2012

Yes…it arrived! Just in time for the July reveal day too!  Now there is a saying ‘the best things come in small packages’ and ‘all good things come to those who wait’.  Both of these sayings are very apt right now.

Last week, I was slightly concerned that my foodie penpals parcel hadn’t yet arrived but luckily on Saturday, Mr Postman left behind one of his little red cards informing me that my package was at the Post Office.

This morning it was my mission to retrieve my foodie penpals parcel in good time and to do my write up.Here we are then on reveal day.  This month I was sending to Lucy who writes a wonderful blog Porridge and Parsnips.  I received my package from Melanie who appears to be an expert in food and ingredients. Find out for yourself – go and read her foodie blog   ediblethings.

So this month my package flew in from The Netherlands which meant everything included in my parcel was new to me…excitement!

Melanie sent the most thoughtful package and considered my love of butterflies by sending me this lovely card.  She explained that she wanted to buy me chocolate butterflies but couldn’t find them anywhere so got the card instead.  I’m very happy with the card as it lasts longer than chocolate.

My Dutch contents were as follows:  A green peppercorn pate, my vegetarian item.  This is great as most pates that I see in supermarkets often contain pork. Speculas, a Dutch spice mix which is great for baking.  I will definitely try this out in a cake soon.  My treat was a Dutch apple and cinnamon bar which was eaten before I finished taking the photos for the blog! Gluten free too which ensured that I didn’t carry too much guilt around with me today. The chocolate flowers will be tried tomorrow on toast for breakfast.

Melanie sent me herbals teas, Jasmine and Hibiscus.  I absolutely love Jasmine tea.

Jasmine Tea

The hibiscus can be used to colour icing or used as an ingredient in a cake.  As I have more time on my hands at the moment I will try them in a cake.

Hibiscus Tea

Last but not least Melanie included some fish recipes for me to try and a pack of chervil seeds.  I’ve never heard of chervil before, but it is a herb from the parsley family that works well in fish dishes.  I will try it with some seabass; actually I will buy some lovely fish from Maximus Sustainable Fishing who are at Harringay Market every Sunday.  I will need to plant them first mind!

I have loved the variety in my foodie penpals parcel this month and I’m looking forward to trying out the various bits, especially as it involves baking.

Thanks very much Lucy and Melanie for a great experience this month.

Remember if you want to sign up to Foodie Penpals follow this link to Carol Anne’s blog Rock Salt and register – hurry!

4 thoughts on “Foodie Penpals – July 2012

Leave a Reply

