Cake International 2012

What a weekend!  Saturday I went to The Cake International Show, the first to be held in London.  The first thing I thought was, ‘why has this show only now come to London?’

Once I was over that, I quickly, while trying to contain my excitement, scanned the show to see if I could see what was available.  There were hundreds of over people like myself looking for a fantastic bargain.

One of the most impressive sights of the day were the competition cakes.  It was evident that a great deal of effort and concentration was carefully executed in these creations.  Each cake was decorated to perfection; I was amazed at the sheer imagination, let alone patience and technique, on display.  I snapped away and you can see some of the photos below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I made my way around the exhibition I noticed that it was more of a cake decorating show rather than a cake baking event.  In my opinion, it would be great to see a workshop perhaps on how to create Cake Pops, checked cakes etc.  Perhaps this could be included next time.  I for one, believe the taste and texture of the cake is just if not more important than the look of the cake.  Don’t get me wrong, it is great if it looks pretty, however we all get satisfaction when we eat the cake right?  My friends, who know me well, know that I make noises of appreciation and if the cake is exceptional then I may even dance when I eat cake.  Surely I’m not the only one who does this?

Plenty of goodies were purchased; my favourite has to be the cake pops starter kit.  I will be testing my patience soon.  I think I need to give myself a whole day for this challenge.

All in all, the show was worthwhile.  April 12th, 13th and 14th 2013 have already been entered into the diary for next year.  One thing I will do in advance is to prepare a wishlist inclusive of prices so I don’t get tempted into buying items that are really not necessary.

What did you think of the show?

5 thoughts on “Cake International 2012

  1. I was a little disappointed with the show. I too expected some emphasis on baking rather than just decorating and would have liked to see some demonstrations and tasted some samples :0) I was, however, inspired and blown away by some of the competition cakes on show.

  2. I was expecting the show to be like the cake equivalent to The Ideal Home Show but it wasn’t. I spoke to a few other people who said that it was exactly like the show in Birmingham NEC. I did enjoy it and was glad that I went at the latter end of the day avoiding the huge rush. Would you go again?

  3. I love the topsy turvy tiered cake in your photos, I’ve always fancied having a go at one. Taste is definitely as important as decoration. But then again, I’m just too impatient to do super fancy icing decoration because I want to eat the cake!

    The rose swirls you asked about on my cake post are surprisingly easy to do and are the same as the ones you often see on cupcakes. You just need to do an overall crumb coating on your cake and for the swirls you use a piping bag and a large piping nozzle (mine was a Wilton 1M tip.) To achieve the swirls you pipe in a circular motion, moving from the centre outwards. It takes a bit of practice, but if you’re not happy with them you can easily swipe them off and re pipe them (which I did with a few!)

    • Thanks for the advice Jo. I’ve been looking for that nozzle all weekend. Apparently it’s a very popular one! I will just have to get it on eBay. Once I get my hands on the nozzle I will post photos of my attempts. Wish we buckets of patience!

  4. I’m learning so must from your blog. had no there was so must events and fancy skills to be experienced. I do enjoying see the amazing talent and PATIENCE people put into decorating cake , I know what your saying. I have spent a lot of my time trying to get the hang of making a cake worthy enough for my stomach that i’ve only just began worrying about what it actually looks like. Sure, a cake can look amazing, “but if it try, why buy” lol.

    The Cakes in your slide are extraordinary, some what unbelievable. Did not have a clue all that decor with icing was possible. My has to be the nandos looking cake sooooooooo cool.

Leave a Reply

