Whimsical Wonderland…Wow!

Sunday was the first ever Clandestine Cake Club event in Bounds Green & Bowes Park, the 100th CCC that has been set up and my first time hosting an event.  By the looks on the bakers faces, it was a huge success!

For me the whole weekend involved baking.  I started on Friday, baking cake samples to get the seal of approval from Jessica for the new Harringay Market.  This went well and got my excitement levels racing again.

Secondly my good friend had a little party and I baked a ‘special’ cake for that too!

Now the big event was the Whimsical Wonderland themed Clandestine Cake Club. There were ten cakes between eleven people.  So we were really challenged!

Madhatter’s Hat

The youngest member being just 13 years old, made a Madhatter’s Hat cake, which was a delicious moist pound cake. The cakes included a Caramel cake, Blueberry & Soured Cream cake, Choreo cake (a chocolate and oreo combination), Victoria Sponge with a Caramel Frosting, Madhatter’s Tea Party cake, Chocolate & Orange Marble cake, Sticky Wicky Coconut cake, a Toadastical Delight and my Topsy Turvy Black & Pink Layer cake.

It was great to see how all the bakers interpreted the theme and added their personal touch.  All the cakes looked so gorgeous and colourful.  What was even better was the attraction that the cakes generated in The Step.  There were looks of interest, complimentary comments and one booking for the next event which is just a few weeks away.

Chero Cake

Chocolate & Orange Marble cake

Victoria Sponge with Caramel Frosting

Madhatter’s Tea Party

Jubilee Jubilation is the fitting theme for the  next CCC event on Sunday 10th June. Cakes will need to be dressed for a Queen. I cannot wait to see the amazing cakey constructions next time, especially as one guest left on Sunday saying they already know what they are making for the next one.

Fortunately or unfortunately (depending on how hungry I am) my fridge is full of leftover cake. I am wondering how long it will take to disappear but by no means do I feel like I need another challenge.  One thing that I have finally realised this weekend is: although cake is delicious,  even I cannot eat all the cake I’d like to.

I have to thank Lynn Hill for thinking of the Clandestine Cake Club and sharing it with us.  It is such a simple idea really and one that almost anyone of any age can access and enjoy. I mean really, is there any human that doesn’t like cake?  It’s a rhetorical question, therefore I do not want any cake-haters to reply with messages of contempt.

Many thanks to The Step, a lovely new café which is becoming a firm favourite amongst the locals.  Last and a much needed thanks to all the bakers that attended – you were the vital ingredients! I thoroughly enjoyed hosting my first event and hope that there will be many more.  I have a huge list of ideas for themes but if you have any more please let me know.

Until next month…

2 thoughts on “Whimsical Wonderland…Wow!

  1. I am the Secretary of Bowes Park Garden Group and we are organising our annual community picnic with cake stall in Community Garden, Myddleton Road on Sat 9th June. There will be a magician , face painting, Morris dancers and guitar player. I wondered if any of your members would like to bake a cake and donate it to us (proceeds of event go to Garden Group funds which
    buy plants for garden and finance events for benefit of community such as the picnic. Just bring cakes along to the Garden at 2pm on the day or soon thereafter. My phone no is 0208 881 5195
    and email sarahchristin54@hotmail.com

    With thanks,

    Sarah Harris

Leave a Reply

